Virtual Races: Fab or Fad?

IMG_4526

The first time I heard about virtual racing, I thought to myself, “Why?”

Why would I want to pay money to run by myself? Can’t I do that for…

wait for it…

FREE?

Well, the answer is yes, but I decided to try it anyway, just to see what the big deal was. And I was astonished by how much FUN I had. The race director had an interactive Facebook Group and Facebook Page where I was able to chat with other participants and meet new racing friends. I also received the coveted race medal!

But the best part was that I didn’t have to leave my family for a weekend to participate in a race that they had no interest in. I didn’t have to travel, try to find parking, walk more miles to get to the start line than I would run during the race, deal with crowds, etc.

I DID get to take my dog, listen to my music, and pick my own course (flat and fast, baby!). It was exhilarating and fun. The medal was awesome. So though I’m not sure whether virtual racing is a fad, it is most definitely FAB!

Find some virtual races at www.mkt.com/RCFVirtualRace and if you use the code “RCF Fans” you can get $5.00 off any upcoming race or race series!

IMG_4525

I’ll be running the Summer Race Series, will you join me?

~ Thankfully Exhausted

One thought on “Virtual Races: Fab or Fad?

Leave a Reply

