Power in the Name

My youngest daughter loves tormenting her big sister. It’s a sad reality in our house but a reality nonetheless. One of the 5 year old’s techniques is a simple word that strikes terror in her sister’s 6-almost-7 year old heart heart.

Devil.

You may laugh, but when I was about her age, maybe a bit younger, I was scared to death of someone repeating Bloody Mary over and over again. It’s a very real and terrifying fear. I’ve tried to get my youngest to stop and to teach my oldest that there are ways to mitigate the fear. That being said, we had an incident recently that unfolded like this:

Both girls are going to bed and my youngest saunters up close to my oldest daughter’s bed and whispers something I can’t hear in her ear. My oldest then proceeds to yell out “JESUS!”

This made my head whip around quicker than the speed of light.
“We do not say the Lords name in vain!” I reacted.

“I didn’t, I mean, I just…” My oldest stammered.

I proceeded to give her a long speech about how it’s not acceptable to say that blah, blah, blah. When I was finished she looked me straight in the eyes – mine semi harsh, hers brimming with tears – and said, “Mommy, it’s how I’m not afraid.”

My heart fell out of my chest. I knew instantly what her sister had whispered in her ear. That one little word that was scarier than any snake, spider, or clown. And I felt like a total jerk. I jumped to conclusions, I fell into her little sister’s trap.

With her in my arms apologizing profusely, tears running down both of our cheeks Romans 10:13 came to mind “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (King James Version)

She was simply calling out the name of The Lord. Jesus made her less scared. There is power in the name.

~ Thankfully Exhausted

One thought on “Power in the Name

Leave a Reply

